Helpful Links

Local free and low-cost counseling:

Highland Lakes Family Crisis Center: 800-693-3656
Phoenix Center: 830-637-7848
Hill Country Children’s Advocacy Center: 512-756-2607

Austin-area low-cost counseling:

Capital Area Counseling: 512-302-1000
Samaritan Center for Counseling and Pastoral Care: 512-451-7337
Tejas Family Guidance Center: 512-981-8787
YWCA Greater Austin Counseling & Referral Center: 512-326-1222
New Life Institute: 512-469-9447

E-Counseling:

www.talkspace.com

Free and low-cost counseling for children who have experienced trauma:

Children’s Advocacy Centers (to find a CAC near you): www.nationalcac.org
National Domestic Violence Hotline (to find a crisis center near you): 800-799-7233

24/7 Hotlines:

Local:

Bluebonnet Trails MHMR: 830-798-2902
Hill Country MHMR: 800-682-7382
Highland Lakes Family Crisis Center: 830-693-3656

State and National:

Clarity Child Guidance Center Acute Crisis (greater San Antonio area): 210-582-6412
Texas Youth & Runaway Hotline (phone or on-line): 800-989-6884
National Suicide Prevention Lifeline: 800-273-8255
National Domestic Violence Hotline: 800-799-7233
Rape, Abuse & Incest National Network: 800-656-4673
National Runaway Safeline: 1-800-786-2929
Boys’ Town National Hotline (for children, teens, and parents): 800-448-3000
24/7 on-line crisis help: www.imalive.org

Self-injury:

Self-injury Information Line: 800-366-8288
www.selfinjury.com

General mental health:

Psychology Today: www.psychologytoday.com
National Alliance on Mental Illness: www.nami.org
GoodTherapy: www.goodtherapy.org

Parenting Help:

National Parent Helpline (M-F, 8:00 am-5:00 pm): 855-427-2736
Boys’ Town National Hotline (24/7 hotline, includes help for parents): 800-448-3000
Christine Moers Parent Coach: http://christineparentcoaching.com/
Lives in the Balance: www.livesinthebalance.org
Child Trauma Academy: http://childtrauma.org/
Parenting2Go app: http://t2health.dcoe.mil/apps/Parenting2Go

Adoption Resources:

Adoption Knowledge Affiliates: http://adoptionknowledge.org/
Attachment & Trauma Network: www.attachmenttraumanetwork.com
Creating A Family: https://creatingafamily.org/

Stress, Burnout and Secondary Trauma:

For anyone exposed to trauma and suffering:

Compassion Fatigue Awareness Project: www.compassionfatigue.org
PTSD Coach app: www.ptsd.va.gov/public/materials/apps/PTSDCoach.asp
Virtual Hope Box: http://t2health.dcoe.mil/apps/virtual-hope-box

Trauma workers and counselors:

www.joyfulheartfoundation.org

First Responders:

Grieving Behind the Badge blog: http://grievingbehindthebadgeblog.net/
24/7 hotline for law enforcement officers: http://copline.org
24/7 crisis line for law enforcement officers: http://serveprotect.org/
24/7 helpline for first responders struggling with addiction: 855-995-6802 and www.stationhouseretreat.com
Survivors Network for Air & Surface Medical Transport: www.survivors-network.org
24/7 hotline for all emergency service and public safety personnel and their families: 877-230-6060 and www.safecallnow.org

Disaster Response and Humanitarian Workers:

www.headington-institute.org

Clergy and ministers:

http://divinity.duke.edu/initiatives-centers/clergy-health-initiative
http://www.pastorburnout.com

Addiction

Recovery.org: www.recovery.org/browse/marble-falls-tx
Bluebonnet Trails MHMR substance abuse assessment and rehab information: 800-841-1255
Station House Retreat (for first responders): 855-995-6802 and www.stationhouseretreat.com
Addiction Center: https://www.addictioncenter.com/

If you have any questions or need additional information, I invite you to call me at (830) 613-1650. If you prefer, you may email me.